You've been asking for this FOREVER, and now you got it!
When you do saveword, a file is created that contains nothing... except.. your INVENTORY!
Yes indeed. Your inventory is now saved to file. When you do a 'load game', that inventory is restored.
Yes, it works between versions.
Yes, you're welcome. Enjoy!